Shop Hop Loot!

You have to love a good shop hop!  This one was so much fun because it was 27 different quilt stores ALL IN ONE PLACE!  They called it shop ’til you drop 🙂  It was about an hour away from me.  I got there about 10:30 and it was packed!  So packed that you couldn’t really turn around in the booths.  And you know how a group of quilting women can get when they want to “get at” something, right?  Yikes!  So, I spent the first 45 minutes or so, just cruising around on the outskirts.  It calmed down around lunch time because all the hungry quilters were eating, so …. that’s when I went in for the kill.  Here are pics of my fun finds!

First up, some fat quarters for a Princess quilt for my little great-niece.  She’s totally into Princesses right now and I want to take advantage of it before she shuns all things girly.  And for those of you following, yes…I’m still looking for the perfect horse fabric for my other great-niece 🙂

Next, a trio of handwork projects/ornaments.  These are really small but wait until you see them up close!  The quilt shoppe one is going to make an awesome Christmas present…dang, I should have gotten TWO!  I also bought some little wrought iron hangers to hang them from.  Here they all are close up.

Hmmmmm, I’m noticing that I have a tendency to buy things involving cats.  Are you sensing a problem here?  🙂

Moving on before you all start referring to me as the crazy cat lady….

These yummy fat quarters are for me and ONLY me 🙂  Nope, not sharing!   I have my sights set on making two different wall hangings for my bedroom…one with an early bird for my side of the bed and one with a night own for Jim’s side of the bed.  It’s a really cute design from Whimsicals.

I must have been on a hand-work kick today because it would appear that’s what I brought a lot home of, lol.  I found these two adorable red work patterns, one for dogs and of course…wait for it….one with cats!  I think I might make them for the humane society silent auction for the Indy Hairball in October.  I also bought a couple of pieces of muslin for the backgrounds and some red floss as believe it or not, I’ve never done red work before!

I bought some wrought iron hangers, a refill of Mary Ellen’s Best Press, and a Welcome quilt hanger (that I have no idea what I’m going to make to hang on it, but I liked the idea!)

Then I found a quilt that I absolutely fell in love with!  Ever done that?  Seen one and just loved everything about it from the colors to the fabric down to even the variegated thread that was used to quilt it?  I scouted the booth a few times because the line was so long and then eventually I went in and asked if they had the fabric/pattern for that quilt.  Turned out they had ONE kit left!  Well, needless to say, I had to have it.  It’s not a pattern I would have normally chosen but I just loved the blues/browns/creams so much I just wanted to snatch it away from their booth!  However, I maintained and just purchased the kit instead 🙂  I don’t know if you can get a feel for how pretty it is from the picture, but just wait until I get some variegated quilting on there with the blue/brown thread….yummy!

Ok, I promise, I’m winding down now.  My last purchase was a little thread/scrap catcher.  Now, I know I could make my own…but who has time?  🙂  So I gladly paid a nice woman $10 to have one that she’d already made.  And it features what else?  A cat!  It says, ” I made this for myself, but my cat thinks it’s hers”.  I thought that was appropriate for Ms. Emmie, my frequent helper.

Now it’s almost 4:00 and I have a ton of work to do yet, but all I really want to do is sew 😦  Maybe I’ll work until 7 and then give myself a break.  Hope you enjoyed the “trunk show”.  I’m hoping to have some updated pics of my summer table topper by tomorrow!  Have a wonderful evening!

3 thoughts on “Shop Hop Loot!

    • The ornaments looked fun and I really need to practice my embroidery stitches :). If I had been “smart” I would have bought the floss so I could take one on my trip this week! Sigh 🙂

I love comments :)

