I did it…meet Scarlett :)

Meet Scarlett!

So, I bit the bullet!  After lots of angst, research, and beating myself up for not “needing” a new machine, I decided to get the Bernina 830 LE.  Ever since I looked at her last Saturday and allowed myself to even think about getting her, it’s become an obsession.  I scoured the message boards of all my favorite groups, searched all the blogs, contacted the folks who I knew owned one for feedback and looked for all the good, bad, and the ugly.  It seemed that the first machines that came out in 2008 had some tension issues, but all the folks I spoke with had either had their issues resolved by the company or had their machines replaced.  Since 2010, it didn’t appear anyone was having issues.

Settled in her cabinet

It seemed that everyone that owned one, loved it and didn’t regret the purchase.  Now, I can do guilt like nobody’s business (thank my parents for sending me to a Catholic school growing up), so when I read all the messages about folks that thought it was insane to spend that kind of money on a sewing machine, I of course, started to feel guilty for even considering it.  Then I thought long and hard about it on Thursday.  Thursdays are normally my late day/night at the clinic.  I go in at 1:00 and see clients until 9 p.m.   This allows some after work options for those who can’t come in with their itchy pets during normal  hours.  I started off my day by going to an equine hospital and doing a skin test on a horse at 10 a.m. and found myself ending my day and driving home at 10:30 p.m.  I thought, you know, this is crazy…you work your tail off…if you can afford to buy this (48 month interest free financing which is how I bought my 440 QE!) and it makes you happy, then the heck with what everyone else thinks!  You’re almost 44 years old, why the HECK do you give a rat’s “bleep” what anyone thinks?  You don’t have children, you have a husband with an equally expensive hobby…does this make you happy?  YES!  Then consider it therapy!  So, Friday morning, I walked into my dealer and placed my order.  After hyperventilating for a bit (thank you Katie @ Katie’s Quilting Corner for calming me down and telling me it was ok, lol) I went home and started preparing for her arrival.  I actually got a call Friday night telling me she MIGHT be ready by the time sewing circle and software sampler were over on Saturday afternoon!

Emmie stalking Scarlett 🙂

So, yesterday I brought her home!  Emmie doesn’t know what to think…she’s bigger than Bernie (the 440 QE) and “purrs” differently.  She spent most of the evening stalking her.  She would hop up on the table, crouch down, and slink around her on all sides.  She even hissed at her once, lol.  I was trying to think of names for her (because the “big hussy” seemed oh, so inappropriate for such a pretty girl) and luckily, Katie came to my rescue again with “Scarlett”.  Given her red face plate, I think that name is PERFECT!  Thank you Katie….now you just need to come schedule a visit to Indiana to play 🙂  The IQF is in Cincinnati in April…wanna come?  🙂

Block 2 of Swoon

So, Emmie and I stayed up until midnight playing with Scarlett and finished Block 2 of Swoon.  Thanks to Pam @ Hip to be a Square for her pressing tips!  (go here).  Block 2 turned out much better than block 1 with only one seam ripping event I’m happy to say.  I can tell piecing on a 9 mm feed dog is a lot different from piecing on my 5 mm Bernie.  I bought the single stitch throat plate, but I need a lot of practice!  Looks rainy here today so it would be the perfect day for some sewing IF I didn’t have to finish taxes, do laundry, go to the grocery store, get horse feed, clean stalls….sigh.  Oh well, I played all day yesterday, so today I shall do my chores 🙂  I have my first class with Scarlett from 10-3 next Friday…I can’t wait.  Oh, and with my purchase came an all expenses paid trip for a 2 day seminar on the 830 LE with the Bernina Educators in Chicago in August or December!  I’m a lucky girl 🙂

15 thoughts on “I did it…meet Scarlett :)

  1. Congratulations! How fun! Those larger feed dogs and single hole stitch plate will make a world of difference in your accuracy and frustration level. It will be well worth it. Enjoy.

  2. Hi, Lori, so glad for you. I named mine “Gibbs” after Wilcox and Gibbs who made some major advances in sewing machines and overcasters (Sergers). My serger is Wilcox, so it seemed appropriate for such a honkin’ big machine. 🙂 Glad you have joined us series 8 folks. Cheers

  3. Congratulations! And I’m sure Emmie will make friends with her, as long as her tail doesn’t accidentally end up under a needle along the way. You’ll have a great time–and no guilt necessary!

    • Thanks Sandy! She was hissing at her this morning but by this afternoon was all snuggled up in the sun on a quilt that was sitting right next to her. She loves this particular quilt so I laid it in the sun right next to Scarlett and voila 🙂

  4. Congrats on Scarlett and I can’t wait to hear all about your adventures with her! Such a great deal to get hands on training like that with an all-expenses paid trip. Don’t feel guilty! You work hard you should be able to come home and play hard too with a great tool that works well for ya. I hope to one day come visit so I see both of you!!

    • Thanks Katie 🙂 And thanks for the encouragement as I struggled with the decision! Now, if I could just stay home and play on her instead of go to work today, lol.

  5. Pingback: Q2 2012 Finish A Long | quiltingunleashed

  6. Can you put your 830 on a regular Horn cabinet? It looks like you have done this and just kept it high enough to put the sliding table on?

    • Hi Helen! That’s exactly what I did. It’s not idea and completely flush, but purchasing the new cabinet designed for the 830 was $$$ and this is working fine for me. I do set her on the solid part of the cabinet when embroidering though (not on the part that lowers). She likes to vibrate a bit when embroidering and I was worried about it not being completely steady.

  7. Pingback: Wrapping up 2012 | quiltingunleashed

I love comments :)

