A Week of Finishes

Well, this was a productive week!  I really enjoyed the fact that life settled down a bit and allowed me to get some sewing time in 🙂  My top finish of the week was my little version of “ME” created for the “It’s All About ME!” blog hop featuring the pattern by Amy Bradley and hosted by Madame Samm.  This was my first blog hop and I really enjoyed working on my project, but even more, enjoyed looking at everyone else’s creations each day.  I even met some new bloggers who are a little animal “crazy” like me!  Here’s my finished version hanging in my office/sewing room.  I kind of love her!MENext up were some birthday presents for a relative.  We were supposed to meet on Friday but she was sick, so she’ll get these sometime later this week.  A little mug rug made from the Amelia fabric line and a little kitchen towel that was embroidered by Scarlett (my 830).Mug Rug for Mom ATowel for Mom A

This was my first time using a “topper” (aquafilm) on embroidery.  I’ve been reading that it helps with the stitches and helps them to not sink into the towel.  I think I liked it and will definitely try it again in the future.aqua film topper

At one point, I had both girls going.  Scarlett was embroidering the towel and I was piecing and quilting the mug rug on Bernie, the 440.  Jim said the whole house was shaking, lol.  I told him I needed a different table for Scarlett and he said I needed a different house…wonder what he meant?  🙂Scarlett & BernieOnce those were finished, I got down to business and finished up my Farmer’s Wife blocks for February.  I am finally caught up!!!!!!  (take that mom :))  Here are my 5 blocks for February.  I’m loving this quilt.  The original thought was to make it out of all of my stash, but I’m so in love with the Etchings fabric (that was in my stash to begin with I swear!) that now I kind of want to focus on those colors for the entire quilt.  We’ll see 🙂  There are a few other fabrics I’ve worked in that weren’t from the Etchings line, but I think I will stay with that overall color scheme.Feb 2013 blocksI like all of them but I think Checkerboard (top left) and Butterfly at the Crossing (middle of the top row) are my favorite.  In other news, I’m now sporting a very snazzy addition to my wardrobe.  I managed to break my heel and will be wearing this sexy thing for the next 6-8 weeks.  Kind of puts a cramp in my plans to run a 5K in April and certainly threw a wrench into restarting my riding lessons I had finally gotten lined up.  Grrrr!  IMG_1564

So, it was a busy week here with lots of progress on various projects!  Bubba Jr was exhausted by the end of it 🙂  What did you finish this week?

Bubba Jr. snoozing!

Bubba Jr. snoozing!

4 thoughts on “A Week of Finishes

I love comments :)

