Throw Me A Bone!

Dear Mother Nature, REALLY???????  C’mon!  This is what we woke up to this morning.  There’s about 2.5 inches on the ground with predictions ranging now from 6-10″ by the end of the day.  I feel like I’m in the movie Groundhog Day.  I swear if I saw that little rat right now, we’d have an intervention!IMG_1725

I can honestly remember a time when I liked the snow and the cold weather.  Being cozied up inside a warm house, watching the snow fall…it all seemed very peaceful.  Now that I have these outdoor critters, I worry a lot more about cold temperatures.  IMG_1378

Don’t even get me started about the little cat that hangs out on our porch.  She has a gourmet diva cat house to snuggle in surrounded by big bales of hay (yes…our porch looks like red neck central right now), but I still lose sleep over her while my other kitties are snuggled away warm in their inside beds.  I know I can’t take them all in, and honestly, four cats inside is plenty…especially when they all start sneezing.  Speaking of the feline plague, everyone is better here…except Simon.  Poor Simey….he’s the one that I thought had the toughest immune system, but he’s hanging onto it the longest.  Poor little guy…might be his age, I’m not sure.  Regardless, he’s still happy to sneeze in your face, but at least he’s eating and not looking as pathethic.IMG_1696On the quilting front, I’m afraid I don’t have a ton to report this week.  I did get all of my March Farmer’s Wife blocks finished.  Hard to believe I am actually ahead of Mom right now…that may be the first time since we’ve started this that I’m in the lead 🙂  However, it’s only because she’s hard at work on sewing new curtains for dad’s boat, lol.  I’m headed down to Florida to celebrate Dad’s birthday this week.  Can’t wait to see their bright, smiling faces (note to the weather man – please, some sun?????  I don’t care if it’s 80 degrees, but above 30 and sunny would make Lori very happy!)

Mom & Dad

Mom & Dad

Aren’t they adorable????  Mom just bought a new sewing machine ( a Juki) and I can’t wait to see it and learn all about it!  I’m not very familiar with Juki’s but the reviews look good.  I think it’s the F600?  I’m going to try and get some pics of our FW blocks laid out together which I think will be super cool.  Oh!  And I’m really hoping to road trip and meet Katie while I’m there.  I wish I was going to be there long enough to meet the Corgi’s but this is going to be a quick trip for Dad’s birthday.

So, here are my blocks for March for the Farmer’s Wife quilt.  I’m branching out from the usual Moda Etching’s line (can you tell I am desperate for spring from my color choices?)  LOL.  Sorry for the poor lighting.  It was late, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it 🙂

March 2013 FW Blocks

March 2013 FW Blocks

This one is kind of fun.  Mom and I bought have a fat eighth of this fabric with various quilt blocks listed and we agreed to each incorporate it into our quilt.  This is the way I chose to do that since this block had such a nice open area for fussy cutting.IMG_1685Farmer’s puzzle might be my favorite though 🙂IMG_1718So, that’s it for me for this week.  I’d like to think that I’ll get some sewing done today while it’s icky and gross outside, but I have a ton of stuff to do to get ready to leave and go see the parents 🙂  Here’s hoping wherever you are this weekend is warm and sunny!

One thought on “Throw Me A Bone!

I love comments :)

