Let the Sun Shine!

It was a wonderful week here!  It started out with 8 inches of snow between Sunday night and Monday (which brought lots of cursing from me) but on Wednesday, I headed down to see the parents in Florida for Dad’s birthday.  Gorgeous there!!!!  This is what greeted me 🙂  Mom is so ingenious with decorating…everything is always beautiful and perfect.  IMG_1734This is chalkboard paint on the back of their door…how cool is that?  Definitely something I want to do.  Thursday Mom and I had mani/pedi’s and then we all steamed crab for dinner.  It was such a relaxing day.  I may have come back completely spoiled.  Dad cooked breakfast for me every day…sigh!  It was heaven!  Note the polish on the nails?  The husband might not recognize me, lol.IMG_1736

Friday was Dad’s birthday and he was 70…again 🙂 Apparently we stop counting at 70 and just celebrate that one over and over.  We headed to Tarpon Springs where they have this awesome little sponge dock with silly touristy type shops.  They have this one really cool soap shop though called Lori’s (of course it’s cool right?) where they make goats milk soap and olive oil soap.   The goats milk soaps come with little sponges or loofahs set into the soap and they smell soooooo good!  After that, we had dinner at a greek restaurant, Hella’s.IMG_1749Aren’t they just the cutest?  We had this really sweet waitress named Peggy and she brought Dad a chocolate eclair with a candle in it 🙂  Of course there was singing and drinking as well!IMG_1751And then, for the grand finale….on Saturday, Mom and I traveled to Rainbow’s End Quilt Shoppe to meet Katie of Katie’s Quilting Corner.  What a treat!  I felt like I knew her already from texting, emailing, and following her podcast from the beginning, but she’s even more lovely in person than she seems to be on her podcast.  IMG_1755In case you’re confused, from left to right:  Katie, me, and Mom 🙂  We had a lot of fun shopping and then went to brunch at a little restaurant in Dunedin.  I wish I had been visiting longer because I really would have loved to have met the Corgi crew and had more time to chat.  Next time hopefully!

IMG_1759We all did a little damage, but somehow I managed to buy the most…the one person who doesn’t live there.  How does that happen?  LOL.  Here are some of the fat quarters I picked up.  I also found this über fun print called “Face Woof”.  Yes, I know…I’m a geek and what will I ever do with it?  But how could I not???IMG_1760I’ve also been in love with the grey/green prints from Simply Color by V & Co. for Moda for a while, so I figured a little pack should come home with me.   They look like a standard Florida souvenir don’t you think?IMG_1761So, I didn’t get any sewing done this week, but I did manage to get a picture of all of Mom’s Farmer’s Wife blocks.  I forgot mine 😦  I was so looking forward to laying both of ours out together side by side.  We’ve done 25 so far!  IMG_1738

That’s it for my week!  Not much sewing, but such a wonderful week with friends and family.  Now I’m back in Indiana and ready for spring.  Hope you all had a great week!

2 thoughts on “Let the Sun Shine!

  1. looks like a great time – your parents are wonderful! glad to see they are healthy and happy, enjoying life 🙂 nice souveniers, especially that woof fabric. I’ll be interested to see what you do with it.

    • Thanks Carol 🙂 It was good to spend some time with them. Jim just rolled his eyes at the Woof fabric…will have to find something special for it!

I love comments :)

