Ruler Review and a New BOM

Are you terrified that perhaps the apocalypse is upon us because I’ve posted more than one time in a week, lol?  Never fear…just trying to catch up on some things I’ve been meaning to update you on and I thought one LOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNGG post would be über boring.

So, a few months ago, I did something I swore I wouldn’t do again…and signed up for another block of the month club 🙂  Now, I swore these off in 2011 when I had just started quilting the year before and went a little, well how shall we say it, …batsh*t crazy signing up for BOM clubs?  Oh my goodness, I may never finish some of them.  I still have one of the FQ shop christmas ones to do.  Bad Lori…  And I did a good job of not signing up for more until 2 months ago.  Have you seen this quilt by Julie Hermann from Jaybird Quilts?Toes in the SandOh, if not, you have GOT TO click on the link above or on the picture and go to her blog and look at how beautiful this quilt is.  I fell in love with it immediately, so imagine how simply ecstatic I was when Fat Quarter Shop started offering it as a block of the month!  They recommended you buy Julie’s ruler, the Hex N More.  Now, I love new toys as much as the next girl, so I said, heck yeah…sign me up and send me the ruler too 🙂  The ruler is pictured above or you can click on the link and go see it on Julie’s blog.

I’m always a bit skeptical about rulers for this and rulers for that, but after trying this ruler this past weekend…I AM SOLD!  I will probably never use another ruler for triangles again.  My triangles have never looked so pretty or had their little points line up so easily.  Wow Julie, you sure got it right with this one.  I “heart” it 🙂

Not only does this baby make 60 degree triangles, it makes hexagons, half hexagons, and “jewels“.  I’ve linked each of them so if you click on the word, it will take you right to Julie’s blog and you can see the instructions for cutting each shape.  I’m telling you…easy peasy!  You’ll love it!

So far I’ve finished months 1 & 2 and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of month 3.  Look at me all caught up and all, lol.

IMG_0121 IMG_0118 IMG_0116

IMG_0117

 

Fun huh?  If you’re in the market for a new multi-purpose ruler, I highly suggest you give it a try!  I want to say I paid $23.95 through Fat Quarter shop.  Enjoy!

And I “might” have signed up for another block of the month too… :-0

3 thoughts on “Ruler Review and a New BOM

  1. My you are a busy bee this month – you go girl! I like the quilt and the fact that she uses all fat eigths. You get a scrappy look and fat eigths are candy after all. If I were to make this quilt, rebel that I am – I would make the background green and call it toes in the grass – or brown for toes in the mud. Possibilities are endless 😉 looking forward to seeing it progress.

    Give the golden one a kiss for me 🙂

  2. Thanks for the enthusiastic reviewLori!I, too am skeptical about special rulers and it’s nice to know what others say about them before purchasing! 🙂

I love comments :)

