Eye Candy! IQF Chicago June 2013

Sorry for the delay on posting the eye candy!  Life has been nuts on all sorts of levels here.  I guess that’s just the norm at age 45????  Sigh…sure as heck beats the alternative right?  🙂

So, without further ado…here you go.  I give you IQF Chicago!  Warning…this post is very picture heavy.  Photos were permitted in the majority of exhibits with the specification that any photos posted on personal websites include appropriate credit for each artist and note that the photos were taken at the International Quilt Festival.  You also have my apologies for the formatting of some of the photos and text.  For the life of me, I would have them lined up beautifully and then every time I saved my draft in WP they got wonky on me…and I got tired of trying to edit them, so I figure you’ll like the pictures regardless.  Enjoy 🙂

IMG_1998

This was our first view of the show floor.  Mom had never been to an IQF event before, so she was really excited.  I have been to Houston and LOVED it, but this is the first time I was able to share it with Mom, thus making it just as exciting for me and something I had looked forward to for MONTHS!  We started planning this when I visited them in Florida in March 🙂

Family by Toshiko Maeda

Family by Toshiko Maeda

This quilt represents the artist’s family of 3 Boston Terriers and a Pug and their various antics.  It was crazy quilted, hand pieced, embroidered, machine appliqued, and hand quilted.

Family by Toshika Maeda

Family by Toshika Maeda

Family by Toshiko Maeda

Family by Toshiko Maeda

I apologize in advance…you’ll notice what tends to draw my eye are the animal related quilts, lol.  What do you expect from a veterinarian?  Seriously? 🙂

Crime Scene Investigation by Paula Salzman

Crime Scene Investigation by Paula Salzman

CSI by Paula Salzman

CSI by Paula Salzman

This quilt, based on the author’s two dogs was hilarious!  Quilted into the quilt were little sayings like, “I honestly think you left the steak on the kitchen counter for me.  I am a carnivore, not a vegetarian.  It would help if you removed the plastic wrapping.  That way there would be less mess to clean up.”

Crime Scene Investigation by Paula Salzman

Crime Scene Investigation by Paula Salzman

Or, even funnier…”What makes you think I tore up your underpants? Just because you found them in the backyard under the bushes with the crotch missing does not mean that I did the deed.  Remember when Fido came to visit?  I confess….he did it…NOT me!

Next up, “Ms. MacDonald Had a Farm”.  This quilt was stunning.  It’s the result of much work by Lynn Czaban and members of the Hanging by a Thread group in Vancouver, Washington.IMG_2013

Cantena by Timna Tarr

Cantena by Timna Tarr

And in case you think that the only quilts that I love are animal quilts, this one made me smile.  It’s called Cantena and the artist is Timna Tarr.  This quilt was based on an Endless Chain quilt from the 1940’s that belonged to the artist’s mother.  It was paper-pieced, hand-appliqued, and machine and hand quilted.

This quilt might have been my favorite in the entire show.  Perhaps because it reminds me of my own golden boy???  Hmmm…surely not!  Rusty’s New Teddy Bear, by Tonya Littmann, won judge’s choice by John Flynn in the art miniature category.  It was ink-jet photo transferred, machine quilted, and thread painted.  It depicts the death of Rusty’s teddy bear in less than 4 hours…a common “gutting” occurrence in our household.  Love, Love, LOVE!

Rusty's New Teddy Bear

Rusty’s New Teddy Bear
by Tonya Littmann

Sunburst, by Connie Watkins, was hand-pieced and hand quilted.  It was based on a picture of an antique quilt that the artist saw in the Folk Art Museum in New York.  She didn’t have a pattern, just a picture of an antique quilt from the 1800’s.

Sunburst by Connie Watkins

Sunburst by Connie Watkins

One of the exhibits was “The Naperville Modern  Quilt Guild Presents:  A Modern Spin On The Log Cabin Block.”  The Naperville Modern Quilt Guild had a really nice exhibit full of modern log cabin interpretations.  I love log cabin quilts…one of these days I’ll make one.  Here are a few that I really liked.

Off the Beaten Path by Nancy Lindberg quilted by Robin Adams

Off the Beaten Path
by Nancy Lindberg
quilted by Robin Adams

The Long Winter by Catherine Redford

The Long Winter
by Catherine Redford

Schwerkraft (Gravity) by Cheryl Sleboda

Schwerkraft (Gravity)
by Cheryl Sleboda

From Humble Beginnings by Lisa Winn Noonan

From Humble Beginnings
by Lisa Winn Noonan

Skyfall by Sharon Maroni quilted by Robin Adams

Skyfall by Sharon Maroni
quilted by Robin Adams

IMG_2047

Improv Logs by Svetlana Sotak

Enough log cabins for you?  LOL, I thought they were very cool.  Next up was an awesome quilt called “The Quilt Show” by Carole Corder.  It’s an 80″x80″ quilt from the special exhibit “Traditional Treasures 2013”.

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show
by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The pictures don’t do this quilt justice.  It was hand and machine pieced, hand quilted, and needle-turn appliqued.  Bits of fabric from her paternal grandmother’s quilts are even included.  This was truly incredible!

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

Check out the detail in this little Dresden Plate quilt!  Amazing….

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

And of course, I loved the detail of the kitty in the quilt shop window 🙂

And last but not least, look at the little yo-yo quilt.  Yes, these are real yo-yo’s hanging from the main quilt.  Note the cute little bunny at the base of the tree as well.  Sigh…so wonderful!

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

The Quilt Show by Carole Corder

Moving on….

The next quilt was called “Convergence” by Latifah Saafir.  She took bias strips and appliqued them down onto a background fabric, then quilted it.  I thought it was very striking.

Convergence  by Latifah Saafir

Convergence
by Latifah Saafir

This next exhibit was one of the most interesting and fun to explore just because it was SO unique.  It was called a Quilted Yurt, made by Linzi Upton from Scotland.  Here is a link to Linzi’s blog explaining how the Quilted Yurt came about.  The pictures just don’t do it justice…really they don’t.  Mom and I really enjoyed taking our time and exploring the yurt, inside and out.

The Quilted Yurt by Linzi Upton

The Quilted Yurt
by Linzi Upton

IMG_2057

The Ceiling of the Yurt

IMG_2054

Inside the Yurt

And last but not least, the exhibit that had me giggling so hard I was snorting sometimes…ChiCOWgo.  These quilts were all inspired by the various artists’ take on the pattern in a book “Out of the Box with Easy Blocks” by Mary Lou Weidman and Melanie McFarland.  All of these quilts were based on interpretations of the Purple Cow.  The embellishment on these quilts was phenomenal.  I swear, I looked like a loon strolling the aisles smiling, giggling, and pointing things out to Mom.

Micro Moo by Melanie McFarland

Micro Moo
by Melanie McFarland

First up is “Micro Moo” by Melanie McFarland.  this was 15″x15″ and so cute.  If you click on the picture and look closely you can see the little beads on the udders and the little jeweled horse shoe hanging from her nose.  Precious!  Then the original Purple Cow by Mary Lou Weidman.

Purple Cow by Mary Lou Weidman

Purple Cow
by Mary Lou Weidman

Next up was “COWculator” by Connie Donaldson.  This quilt featured cute little sayings like “cows>bulls” and other things incorporating mathematics into the quilt in a very fun way.

COWculator by Connie Donaldson

COWculator
by Connie Donaldson

COWculator  by Connie Donaldson

COWculator
by Connie Donaldson

Next up is PoCOWdot by Blair Halbrooks.  Dot made me smile with all of her fun, cheery fabrics and embellishments.  My favorite part was in the description where Blair says she doesn’t mind loaning Dot out, but she’ll be happy when she travels back home 🙂

PoCOWdot by Blair Halbrooks

PoCOWdot
by Blair Halbrooks

Then there was the fun “And The Cow Says Boo!”, by Peggy Baldwin-Clayton.

And The Cow Says Boo! by Peggy Baldwin-Clayton

And The Cow Says Boo!
by Peggy Baldwin-Clayton

Seriously, check out the face on this cute girl!!!!

And The Cow Says Boo! by Peggy Baldwin-Clayton

And The Cow Says Boo!
by Peggy Baldwin-Clayton

And the last in our little cow exhibit…Vino COW, by Sandy Thompson.

Vino COW by Sandy Thompson

Vino COW
by Sandy Thompson

See the corkscrew udders?  So flippin cute!!!!

Vino COW by Sandy Thompson

Vino COW
by Sandy Thompson

Well crew, that’s it!  I hope you enjoyed the eye candy…I know Mom and I had a blast.  I’ll do a separate post showing you my haul from the show in the next week or so 🙂

IMG_2055

3 thoughts on “Eye Candy! IQF Chicago June 2013

  1. Lori,

    Thank you so much for showcasing my quilt, The Quilt Show, on your blog. I didn’t get to attend the show in Chicago but I was so excited to have my quilt chosen for that exhibit. I thank you for your wonderful remarks about the quilt. It is certainly one of my favorites. Of all my quilts, it is probably the pick of the litter. (That was for your benefit!)

    The quilt has done some traveling–It won some special ribbons at the Washington State Quilter’s Guild in Spokane, and it was selected for Paducah in 2010. It was also chosen to be in the “In the American Tradition, 2011” exhibit for IQA and traveled to Cincinnati, Long Beach and Houston in 2011 and 2012. It won a 3rd place prize in the AQS DesMoines show and will now travel in this exhibit. After Chicago, it will go back to Long Beach and Houston. I will meet it in Houston. My sister lives very close to the George R. Brown where the Festival is held. So you can see, that little quilt has been places–more than I have. I have only seen it in Paducah and Houston.

    I am so glad you enjoyed the quilt. It has been such a pleasure to share it with all of the quilters.

    Carole Corder

I love comments :)

