Quilty Eye Candy – QGI Quilt Show

What better way to start off a Sunday than with a little eye candy right?  This week I attended the Quilter’s Guild of Indianapolis 2013 Quilt Show.  This is a show that they host every other year and is a nice local event.  This year the vendors were a bit scarce, but I suspect that is due to it falling on the same weekend as Quilt Market.  I thought I would share with you a few of the quilts that caught my eye.

Best in Show

Best in Show

First up is “Max”.  Max won best in show and also first place in the art quilts, longarm-machine quilted category.  Max was constructed and quilted by Cathy Franks.

detail of faceIMG_2608

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pretty incredible huh?  I think she did a fabulous job…of course I am partial to anything “animal” LOL.

Vases, Birds, and Other Things

Vases, Birds, and Other Things

Next up in the applique bed quilts, longarm-machine quilted category was Vases, Birds, and Other Things. This was a beautiful applique quilt constructed by Bonnie Harlow and quilted by Lynette Reynolds.  Here are a few close-ups.

IMG_2627Vases, Birds, and Other Things

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beautiful detail.  I love these type of quilts.  Maybe one day when I have more time.  I look at all those berries and tiny pieces…eek!

Mom and Babes

Mom and Babes

This was a very fun log cabin quilt constructed by Sally Wycoff, quilted by Paul Wycoff.  I thought they did a great job!  Here’s a close up.IMG_2601

IMG_2603This one made me think of my parents.  It’s called Luquillo Beach, Puerto Rico.  It was constructed and quilted by Judy Pleiss on her home-machine.  There was beautiful quilting and couched threads.  Here’s a close up..I thought she captured the serenity and movement of the water beautifully.IMG_2604

The Poodles  Who Have Quilted With Me

The Poodles Who Have Quilted With Me

I loved this quilt (of course!).  It was in the mixed technique quilts and was constructed and quilted by Carol Henke.  Here’s the story behind it:IMG_2590And now for some of the larger quilts.  Who doesn’t love a Swoon?  This is “Swoonie”, pieced and longarm machine-quilted by Vickie Smith.  Some day I am going to finish my Swoon quilt….

Swoonie

Swoonie

Next up was “A Cool Starlit Night”, also pieced and longarm machine quilted by Vickie Smith.  I loved both the colors and the secondary patterns formed here.

A Cool Starlit Night

A Cool Starlit Night

Next up is “Alaska Memories”, pieced and longarm machine quilted by Darlene Glesenkamp.  This quilt was made from batiks that she collected on a trip to Alaska and I just adored the animal batiks!

Alaska Memories

Alaska Memories

IMG_2579IMG_2580

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dancing Autumn Leaves

Dancing Autumn Leaves

This was a beautiful quilt entered in the group quilts category.  Loved the colors!

Angela's Wedding Quilt

Angela’s Wedding Quilt

This one I loved and could totally see making for our bedroom to showcase some fun fabric prints.  This was a wedding quilt that was pieced by Ann Petrie and longarm machine-quilted by Jane Pitt.

Just Pinwheels

Just Pinwheels

I’m always drawn to pinwheels.  This was pieced by Carol and Theresa Cantwell and longarm machine-quilted by  Theresa Cantwell.

There you go….your eye candy for the day!  I am on “stay-cation” this week and have lots of quilty plans.  Today I’m going to be working on that special quilt for Mason’s mom 🙂  I’m really looking forward to quality time with the sewing room today and Scarlett!  I’ve picked a simple 4-patch pattern alternating with 8 inch picture blocks framed in white.  All of the fabric is in.  I’m using “All Around Town” by Whimsicals.  Here’s the fabric before I dig into it along with a stack of all of his photo blocks.

Mason's fabrics

Mason’s fabrics

Happy Sunday 🙂

 

 

I love comments :)

