Disappearing 9 Patch Table Runner

I finished up the last of the Christmas gifts yesterday!  Sandy H has been talking about disappearing 9 patches on her podcast and I’ve been wanting to try one, so I thought a table runner would be just the ticket!

Table runner frontI had a left over layer cake from Kate Spain‘s Christmas line, Joy,  that I cut up into 5 inch squares, then used those to create four 9-patch blocks.  This was super easy and fun to put together.  I can see an entire quilt made out of these fabrics 🙂

table runner - backThis is the backing fabric.  Please ignore the mess of  Christmas stuff in the background.  I love this fabric.  I’m sure that comes as a shock to many of you….NOT.  I wasn’t familiar with this designer (Jill Simmons Smith), but the fabric is called “Santa Paws” by Illustration Ink for Robert Kaufman.  It comes with a gray background as well…which I wish I had snapped up.  I “might” have purchased a “few” yards of this one 🙂 

photo 2I went with plain, straight line quilting for this one.  FMQing would have probably been faster for this project, but I liked the straight lines better. 

photo 4This was fresh out of the dryer so a bit wrinkly.  I’m having a hard time giving this one away.  I have enough left over charms to make myself one too…probably should get on that huh?  Today I’m planning on trying to get some of my December Farmer’s Wife blocks completed before December is gone (eek!) along with screening resumes for a receptionist position I have open…fun, fun, fun.  Then tomorrow, it’s back to work for me!  Have a great weekend!

5 thoughts on “Disappearing 9 Patch Table Runner

    • The fabric from the front was from a layer cake I purchased last year (Joy, by Kate Spain). The backing fabric I purchased from my local shop, but you can still find it online. 🙂

  1. I love it! Sandy inspired me to start playing with disappearing 9-patches, too. I’ve been cutting scraps into squares and stitched up a few today, might take a while to finish though since I’m thinking of doing it as a leaders and enders project.

I love comments :)

