Vacation Accomplishments

Wow!  I have enjoyed having a week off so much that I told my staff I’ve decided I should take the summer off.  Needless to say, they’re not in favor of that and it might make paying the bills a bit difficult, but oh boy….this was a much-needed retreat from a CRAZY five months.  I really can’t believe we’re at the end of May.  I have NO idea where the last 5 months have gone (wait….yes I do, I was traveling like a crazy woman and working my butt off, lol).

So, without further delay, here is just a little peek at what I did this week.  First, I started every morning (after the chores were done of course) with a cup of coffee on the front porch with this smiling boy who turned 14 (!!!!!) back on the 10th!  How he got to be 14, don’t ask…seems he was just a goofy pup not too long ago.  Every day we have with him is a blessing.  Lots of limping these days and we’re in early renal failure, but he’s happy and I keep him pain-free.  He still likes to walk to the barn every morning and night (but then he prefers to ride back in the gator, lol).

IMG_3556Mom came out last weekend for a “photo shoot” with Aunt Joann’s quilt.  Special memories here that will last a lifetime!

IMG_0297

We finalized plans for the addition of a sunroom and deck on the back of the house!  I have been wanting to do this forever, but we didn’t want to finance it, so this has been a 5 years of savings and lot’s of speaking gigs kind of project.  Construction should start in the next 2 weeks.

Thompson over view 4 Thompson over view 2Lot’s of stuff happening on the sewing front and that was truly the most awesome part of vacation…just being able to sew and relax with the windows open, the birds chirping, and the horses munching.  Heaven!

First I got caught up on our Farmer’s Wife blocks.  I am sad to say that these were February’s blocks…we had to put everything on hold when my travel schedule got out of control and mom had to have thumb surgery.  We’re back on track and I have picked out our 5 June blocks.  With the addition of February’s blocks, we have 65 out of 111 complete.  That means we only have 46 more blocks to go!  Amazing.

IMG_3592I finally had a chance to put all of the ones I have made up on the wall together last night, so here they are.  I really have NO idea how these are all going to tie together in one quilt lol, but I said I was only going to use stash fabric and I have stayed true to that.  I love how when I look at the blocks I can see what was going on at the time in my life and remember special times associated with certain fabrics.

IMG_3593Now, you might have noticed that this is actually hanging ON the WALL.  The other big project of the week was to clear out my sewing room/office.  It has been SO cramped for so long that it just makes me edgy going in there.  First I got rid of Bubba’s big over stuffed chair that was taking up an entire wall.  With his legs, he hasn’t been able to get up on it for over 4 months and when he does, he can’t get down on his own without falling.  It was an accident waiting to happen…so out it went.  Then I got rid of an old kitty condo that was taking up space under the window.  The cats are always on my sewing table or desk, NEVER on their designated space, lol.  So, with that space opened up, I turned an old table that my mom made years ago into a much-needed cutting table.  I added some 5 inch risers and voila!

IMG_3566You can see my Grandma Foster’s old treadle machine there now 🙂  It was crammed into a corner and covered with books.  Moosie likes it too.

IMG_3573Now, as you can see above, the appearance of the self-cleaning litter box beneath the new cutting table AND the lovely brown risers do not add to the ambiance I was trying to create.  Home dec is totally outside of my comfort zone, but with Mom’s encouragement, I bit the bullet and decided to make a skirt for the table.  I fell in love with the Moda Mochi dot linen fabric.  Mom tried to teach me how to make ruffles by  pulling on two threads….after several frustrating tries, I went and purchased a ruffler foot, lol.  This is why god invented technology right??????  Seriously…this thing is a dream!  Here is the finished skirt.  Looks MUCH better than the litter box and risers 🙂

IMG_3585The ruffler foot and I got on famously!  Talk about super simple.  It had 3 settings:  ruffles every 12 stitches, every 6 stitches, or every stitch.  I did every 12 because I wanted looser ruffles.  Now, the new hemmer foot and I, well that is a different story.  We are still not on speaking terms.  I had enough of the mochi dot left over to make a fun little pillow to sit on the chair by Grandma’s machine…I mean Moosie’s chair.

IMG_3586IMG_3588Fun!  I still want to paint the room too, but there are some other things I need to clear out (aka “purge”) before I tackle that.  However, I had such fun with the ruffler that I might consider making curtains when the time comes, lol.

Up next on the cutting table?  Well, I am working on the Scout quilt by Allison Harris at Cluck Cluck Sew.  My awesome friend Courtney from The French Seam (she’s also my neighbor at work, lol) gave me the pattern AND the fabric.  Seriously, how lucky am I to work next door to this lady????  If you’re in Indy, you should totally check her shop out…AMAZING fabrics!  I “heart” her 🙂  All of the strip sets are cut and sewn together (thank you for your help Moosie), so today we cut and piece the blocks together and hopefully get the top stitched.

IMG_3547So, it’s been a fabulous vacation and I still have 3 days left!  Cheers!  Happy Memorial Day weekend everyone!

IMG_3577

 

 

5 thoughts on “Vacation Accomplishments

  1. You are accomplishing so much!! That’s fantastic. Your addition to the house looks wonderful- we’ll look forward to more updates and pics!!

  2. Wow, you were so busy, Lori! Your space looks gorgeous, and I think your Mom was right encouraging you to make that skirt. It makes all the difference! I love your Farmer’s wife blocks! I also want to make the quilt, but I think I want to use the same background on the blocks so they can float nicely together. I hope with your addition you will take before and after pictures, like @Hqsuz did! The drawing looks very nice! Are you planning to move your sewing room into the new sunroom? I totally would! :))) Enjoy the rest of your vacation days, I’m off until Wednesday, woohoo!

    • LOL, Kati….I would LOVE to move to the sunroom but alas, I need to share it 🙂 I’m glad you like the skirt. As for the FW blocks, part of me wishes I had stayed with the same background for the blocks and stayed with the same line, but I really wanted to use my stash. It’s just for me, so even if it never matches quite right, there will be special memories when I look at each of the fabrics. Enjoy your vacation! I’m back to reality today.

  3. Pingback: Vacation Accomplishments

I love comments :)

