Summer, where the heck did it go?

Wow, I can’t believe August is drawing to a close.  I’m not sure where the summer went, or for that matter, where the year has gone.  Seems 2014 has been a blur.  I just wanted to post a quick update on what I’ve been working on (or not, lol) before I wake up and it’s fall around here.

IMG_4029Most of our summer has been spent under construction.  We added a sunroom and a two tier deck.  It took about 8 weeks longer than intended, but we’re pretty in love with the finished product.  Needless to say, the cats have claimed the room as their own.

IMG_3952 I also finished quilting the quilt I’ve been working on for my porch.  It’s the Scout pattern by Cluck Cluck Sew.  I quilted it in the hoop with Scarlett (my Bernina 830 LE) using the master hooper and the jumbo hoop.  It took 36 hoopings over the course of about 2 weeks.  Please pardon the cat, as usual.  I used the quilting ovals pattern from Meringue Designs.  I’ve wanted to do this for some time.  I fought some tension issues, but overall I love the effect of the ovals.  The binding is sewn down to the front, now I just need to do the hand binding.  Hopefully some of that this weekend and then a good wash and she’ll be ready to snuggle.

IMG_4039Mom and I are back in the groove with our Farmer’s Wife blocks.  These are the 4 I finished this weekend.  I have one more to go and then we’ll move on to September blocks.

IMG_4059 IMG_4056 IMG_4054 IMG_4045It’s been a stressful few weeks and I have really enjoyed being able to come home at night and relax in front of the fire pit on the deck (it’s propane so no fuss, no mess) with a glass of wine and chill.

IMG_4003And while relaxing with said glass of wine, I just “might” have been doing some fabric shopping which resulted in these two yummy bundles of Cotton + Steel from Crimson Tate 🙂  Just sayin’….

IMG_4077You’re also well aware of my tendency to hoard all things Bonnie & Camille 🙂  So needless to say, Miss Kate already has a place in my sewing room with some of the flannel fat eighths on the way as well, lol.  Isn’t she pretty?

IMG_3945

Well, I’m afraid that may be all the fabric goodness you can stand 🙂   More pics soon once I get the porch quilt bound.  I’m calling her “Chasing My Tail” and will tell you the full story once she’s complete.  Happy quilting friends!

2 thoughts on “Summer, where the heck did it go?

I love comments :)

