A Finish – Chasing My Tail

Last weekend I finally finished a quilt I’ve been working on since Memorial Day.  I decided to name it “Chasing My Tail”, because that’s how the last few months have felt, both emotionally and physically.  Here’s her story:

IMG_3547The fabric and pattern for this quilt were gifted to me by my good friend, Courtney, at the French Seam.  The fabric is from the line “Color Me Happy” by Vanessa Christenson for Moda (V and Co).  The pattern is Scout from Cluck Cluck Sew.  The pattern was really well written, easy to understand, and comes together quickly because you’re sewing strips.

IMG_3670During the first month of putting this quilt together, I lost my golden love, Bubba Jr.  Wow do I miss him.  This quilt was always intended to be the “porch quilt” for our new sunroom/porch.  I had visions of Bubba and I spending many hours relaxing there and looking out over the fields he couldn’t run in anymore.  Best. Dog. Ever.   So there are lots of tears of love, pain, and love again quilted into this quilt.

IMG_3910I decided to quilt this one in the hoop using the quilting ovals pattern from Meringue Designs.  Love, love, love my Bernina 830 LE.  Of course, sometimes “this” got in the way…

Moose helping with "Chasing My Tail"

Moose helping with “Chasing My Tail”

I love the texture of the quilt.  The concentric ovals represent the circles I’ve been spinning in the last 3 months.  The backing is a dark blue print paired with some more pink (I love the way the navy and pink play with the turquoise and the white).

IMG_4126IMG_4125It’s been washed and is all warm and crinkly.  She’s getting a lot of good use and just seeing it all spread out when I walk onto the porch makes me smile.  And again, there’s this….

IMG_4147There are lots of wonderful scrap bits left over when you are trimming the strip sets for this quilt.  They were so pretty I couldn’t throw them away, so I made a matching pillow.  I also ran across some Mustang by Melody Miller for Cotton & Steel in linen (!!!!) last weekend and I think it’s perfect!

IMG_4150That’s the story of Chasing My Tail.  Hope you all had a wonderful summer.  I am looking forward to fall.  I adore the season 🙂  TGIF!

2 thoughts on “A Finish – Chasing My Tail

  1. I miss Bubba Jr too–loved seeing his face in my Twitter feed. But I’m so glad you have this quilt to bring you memories of him while you’re cuddled up with it! Beautiful quilt and pillows–and someday I’ll be joining you on that sun porch for muffins!

I love comments :)

