Charity Quilt – A Scruffily Christmas Quilt

A friend requested that I make a quilt for a silent auction to benefit an animal charity.  Time has been in short supply lately, so it needed to be something that I could crank out in 10-14 days…at night….after work 🙂  Allow me to introduce you to the Scruffily Christmas Quilt!  (yes, I know…scruffily is not a word, but it’s how this quilt makes me feel lol).

scruffily christmas quiltI modified the pattern a bit from Rachel Griffith’s (from PS I Quilt) Moda Bake Shop tutorial.  I didn’t use a jelly roll for the insides of the squares, just cut up some extra solids that I had on hand.  I highly recommend her pattern if you need a quick, fun, quilt.  Super easy and I love the results.  It reminds me a little of the quilt a long hosted by Rachel that resulted in my Happy Howlidays quilt.

scruffily christmas quiltTrying to get a  picture of a quilt in this house without a cat…next to impossible.  So, its super simple.  Lay out a bunch of layer cake squares in a pleasing pattern, lay a charm square in the middle of those, and then a 2.5 inch square in the middle of the charm square.

IMG_0323Sew 1/4 inch around all of the squares, then sew the rows together, then layer and quilt.  Easy peasy.  Especially if you have a “helper” like the Moose.

IMG_4218I went with simple straight line quilting because I didn’t want to detract from the “scruffiliness” once I washed it.  The fun thing about this quilt is that the more you wash it, the more scruffily it becomes.  Awesome for some snuggling under and dreaming of Christmas wishes.

IMG_0325I hope it brings a good sum of $ for the organization and that it finds a loving home.  I love this little quilt and wanted to keep it, lol.  Maybe I’ll have to make one for us 🙂  The fabric is 25th & Pine for Moda, by Basic Grey.  I bought mine from the Fat Quarter Shop.  They’re having an awesome sale this weekend.  Very bad for my budget.  I’ve decided I need to ask Santa to redo my closet this Christmas so I can add lots of shelves for the fabric I keep accumulating!

2 thoughts on “Charity Quilt – A Scruffily Christmas Quilt

  1. Now this a good idea for using some of those novelty fabrics I have . Course I would have to cut my own layer cake. Your quilt came out great and should raise a lot of money. Do you wash it first? Make it move and scruffy 😉

    • I did wash it first Carol, and sent it along with a note that told the new owner it would continue to fray a bit around the edges for the first few washings. I love the scruffiness 🙂

I love comments :)

